World's End

By: Sinclair, Upton

Price: $50.00

Quantity: 1 available

Book Condition: Very Good


6th printing. Lacks jacket. Spine toned, corners a bit rubbed, light penny-sized spot on top edge of rear board. 1943 Hard Cover. We have more books available by this author!. 740, [2] pp. 8vo. The first novel in Upton Sinclair's Lanny Budd series. From the acclaimed author of The Jungle: The first in a Pulitzer Prize–winning historical saga about the son of an American arms dealer during WWI. Lanning 'Lanny; Budd spends his first thirteen years in Europe, living at the center of his mother’s glamourous circle of friends on the French Riviera. In 1913, he enters a prestigious Swiss boarding school and befriends Rick, an English boy, and Kurt, a German. The three schoolmates are privileged, happy, and precocious—but their world is about to come to an abrupt and violent end. When the gathering storm clouds of war finally burst, raining chaos and death over the continent, Lanny must put the innocence of youth behind him; his language skills and talent for decoding messages are in high demand. At his father’s side, he meets many important political and military figures, learns about the myriad causes of the conflict, and closely follows the First World War’s progress. When the bloody hostilities eventually conclude, Lanny joins the Paris Peace Conference as the assistant to a geographer asked by President Woodrow Wilson to redraw the map of Europe. Perfect for fans of The Winds of War, World’s End is the magnificent opening chapter of a monumental series that brings the first half of the twentieth century to vivid life. A thrilling mix of history, adventure, and romance, the Lanny Budd Novels are a testament to the breathtaking scope of Upton Sinclair’s vision and his singular talents as a storyteller.

Title: World's End

Author: Sinclair, Upton

Categories: Historical, Pulitzer Prize Winners, American, Military,

Edition: 6th Printing

Publisher: Viking Press: 1943

Binding: Hard Cover

Book Condition: Very Good

Jacket Condition: No Jacket

Seller ID: 2269263

Keywords: LITERATURE AMERICAN FICTION,